Celebrity / Entertainment / Media

Why Does Kristen Stewart Have to Apologize?

Image

The incriminating photo via Pink is the New Blog

It’s not something most people would be willing to admit, but I freely, willfully, and guiltlessly enjoy celebrity culture. I’ve never been into reading People or InTouch, but for a while I read Perez Hilton several times a day, but broke that habit when he stopped being nasty and once I realized he was about two days behind every other news outlet. But I will consume new items about celebrity culture by reading Gawker, Vulture and any link that looks interesting to me. I’ve rarely been ruffled by this consumption. Many people have shouted from the rooftops that this very obsession that I maintain is the downfall of American culture. The paparazzi’s ongoing never really bothered me either (gotta make a buck somehow).

But I’m somewhat befuddled by this whole Kristen Stewart/Robert Pattinson cheating situation. Pictures were printed in US Weekly of Stewart sharing a private moment with the director of her latest movie Snow White and the Huntsman. Of course, the Internet nearly blew a gasket at this news since it wasn’t just a blind item, there was picture proof and KStew was busted. Of course, people started speculating about what would happen between Pattinson and Stewart’s relationship, even questioning if Stewart’s career would be over because of this misstep. But the part that really bugged me was this official statement that Stewart released about the subject:

“I’m deeply sorry for the hurt and embarrassment I’ve caused to those close to me and everyone this has affected. This momentary indiscretion has jeopardized the most important thing in my life, the person I love and respect the most, Rob. I love him, I love him, I’m so sorry.” via People.

I think what bothers me the most about this is that it sounds so sincere and a heartbreaking. Usually when a romantic celebrity scandal like this breaks, there is a whole PR team set up to deny, deny, deny and put out the flames. But this wasn’t that. She fessed up to a mistake, and at the end when she says “I love him, I love him, I’m so sorry,” seems like something you’d whisper into you’re scorned lover’s ear while tears run down your cheeks. Um, shouldn’t she be saying these things to ROB? Not the public, or a magazine? Isn’t that the person who really deserves the apology? At the end of the day, this news item is just a fun way to distract myself from work for a few minutes, but if Robert Pattinson is an actually human with emotions (which I suspect he is), then this is probably devastating news for him. I didn’t want her apology. And it felt weird and ugly that so many people wanted this from her, for something she never even did to us. And that she felt she should give an explanation to us when it’s none of our business.

As much as I enjoy a fun, juicy celeb story, this wasn’t very fun. It was sad, and it made me feel gross and rethink my devotion to this kind of voyeurism/entertainment.

Leave a Reply

